I still believe in summer days

While spending my typical far too much time on Facebook, I saw something that jumped out at me. Ashlee had posted “I’ll be your harvester of light”, a line from ‘Winter Song’ by Sara Bareilles and Ingrid Michaelson, on Kat’s page, and Kat commented back, “Love is alive”, and it moved me. I cannot even fathom what Kat and her family are going through right now. And I feel very fortunate that I can’t fathom it. But I do know that, if/when something bad happens in my life, I have some incredible people in my life to build me back up. Even with people scattered all about: Amanda and Ashlee so far away, Robyn so far and settling into a new life as a mother, other people geographically close but we just don’t manage to meet up in the real world…I just feel incredibly lucky to have the people I have in my life. I have made good friends after high school, friends that I know would be there for me at the drop of a hat. But it is such a comfort to know that I have these people, people who knew me back when I had big dork glasses and braces, when we all still lived in Perryville, people who were around when everything went downhill with my Dad, people who comforted me after breakups, people who stayed up with me all night as we tried, time after time, to make it to J Road tower in time for a sunrise, people who witnessed some of my most embarrassing moments and some of my biggest triumphs, people who I had bitter petty high school fights with and are still with me on the other side of all that immaturity… It’s good to know that I still have these people, in whatever fashion, as a part of my life. And love is alive.

Leave a Reply

