Lists

I’m stealing your lists theme today, Robyn. Deal with it. Or battle me, internet-style.

Songs I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of:

*Colorblind by Counting Crows– That scene in Cruel Intentions where this song is playing and she’s coming up the escalator and he’s waiting at the top just makes me sigh in a way that not many movies can. Also, when I lived in Dobson hall, Vidhya and Nicole’s next door neighbor played this on her keyboard somewhat frequently. I had more than one emotional post break-up day in their room hearing this through the walls and just moping in sadness. I don’t feel sad when I hear this song now, though. It just… I don’t know how to say it without sounding stupid, but it just sort of soothes me on a soul level. Actually, I like just about (if not every) song on This Desert Life. I should listen to it more often.
*The Blower’s Daughter by Damien Rice – My most distinct memory of this song was hearing it play during the end credits for Closer. Whew. It had a very different feeling following that particular film than when I’d heard it previously.
*I Will Follow You Into The Dark by Death Cab for Cutie – No story. Just a sweet song. Honorable mention to What Sarah Said, which is a much sadder song by the same artist
*Whatever by Elliott Smith, which has no link because the only links I could find were really horrible sound quality versions attached to fan made youtube videos. Pass. Same for Half Right. I hadn’t heard of this artist until I was taking a creative writing workshop and my professor recommended that I spend some quiet time thinking, curled up in bed, listening to some Elliott Smith. I then went home to investigate this Elliott Smith. I find it moderately disturbing that my professor suggested that I lie down in bed and immerse myself in the music of a man whose death was due to two self-inflicted stab wounds to the chest. I know my poetry attempts and short stories were pretty dreadful, but come on, lady. Were they really that bad?
*Look After You by The Fray – My sister Amy quite awesomely bought me two tickets to go see the Fray at the Pageant a few years back. The set was absolutely beautiful, and they played this during their encore. It was gorgeous, and at the end, it was just them singing and the crowd singing along to the last few lines over and over until it just faded away into nothing. They should have ended the night there, it was the perfect wind down ending. I’d love to go see them again sometime if they ever play in St. Louis at a venue besides Riverport (I don’t care who buys it from year to year, it’s still Riverport to me). I just don’t like the huge outdoor concert thing nearly as much as a smaller place where it just sounds amazing. Plus, that whole pigeons pooping in the mouth of the bass player for Kings of Leon has me a bit disinterested in Riverport.
*Falling Slowly from Once – Le sigh. I should watch Once again.
*Collide by Howie Day – This is one of those songs that really should be totally played out for me by now, but it isn’t. I don’t know that it ever will be. I would love to walk down the aisle to a string quartet playing this, I don’t care how generic or cheesy that sounds.
*Breakable by Ingrid Michaelson -I like almost every song off of Girls and Boys. Same for Slow the Rain. She’s one of Rob Gow’s favorite artists. That Gow is a puzzle. I also very much like her cover of Can’t Help Falling In Love
*Almost Lover by A Fine Frenzy – Sad and beautiful. It’s good for a heartbroken day.
*The Trapeze Swinger by Iron & Wine – I don’t care if this song is crazy long. I’ll listen to it from start to finish every time it comes on, which makes it hard to find the best online version without taking forever, seeing as how the long is 7 1/2 minutes long at its shortest, 9 1/2 minutes at its longest. “But please, remember me, my misery/and how it cost me all I wanted”
*Konstantine by Something Corporate(not a great version) – A second crazy long song, which references the next song on the list. “It’s to Jimmy Eat World, and those nights in my car/where the first star you see may not be a star/I’m not your star- isn’t that what you said what you thought the song meant?” Also, when two things I love collide- Oh, SYTYCD. Well, except for the super flamboyant finish.
*For Me This is Heaven by Jimmy Eat World “When the time we have now ends/When the big hand goes ’round again/Can you still feel the butterflies? Can you still hear the last goodnight?”
*Maps by Yeah Yeah Yeahs –  get past the annoying intro. It’s worth it.
*Closer to Mercury by Wheat – The best part of this song are the lyrics. This song was referenced at the end of a really touching memoir I read, as a good not sappy post breakup song.
*Eet by Regina Spektor – No reason, I just like it.
*Fake Plastic Trees by Radiohead
*Brand New Colony by The Postal Service

That list was much longer than intended. Eh, it happens.

Leave a Reply

