Hey, Soul Sister

You know what? I DO love Train. Even when their songs are overplayed. I even love solo work by the lead singer of Train. I feel like this should probably be a guilty pleasure thing, but I’m unwilling to accept guilt. I stand by it. Maybe not proudly, but …you know…still there.
I also love that Mike will randomly greet me by saying “Hey, soul sister” in the gayest voice possible. His “Geri with a ‘g'” tranny alter-ego is really something else. It sounds creepy, and it is, but it makes me laugh every single time…until it creeps me out and I have to ask him to stop. It reminds me of a vendor who calls my place of work for payment on invoices. “Her” name is Josephine, but the first few voicemails sounded so very male that I thought it was “Joseph Fien”.
Additionally, I can’t seem to buy a book that isn’t written by a funny, gay man with a history of substance abuse. That seems to me like something that would be a somewhat limited niche, but apparently not so much. Even a random book that I purchased based solely on the cover art (because sometimes you CAN judge a book by its cover) turned out to be by a funny gay man who struggled with alcoholism and minor drug use during a time of working nights as a drag queen who went by the name of Aquadisiac. Apparently that’s my go-to …genre? Can that be considered a genre? Anyway, if you know of any funny, gay, reformed alcoholic authors of memoir-type books who are not Augusten Burroughs, David Sedaris, or Josh Kilmer-Purcell, please let me know. I’m running out of material.

Leave a Reply

