Kelso, MO is so played out

I went to Mom and Ron’s house this past weekend to visit with family and celebrate the October birthdays. Amy, Mom, Cindy’s husband Mike, and my nephew Lucas all have October birthdays. I also wanted a chance to go through the family pictures, since I have a whopping ONE picture from my entire childhood. That’s enough back story. And we’re in!

Amy and Mitch will be in Disney World during Halloween this year. They were trying to think of appropriate Halloween costume ideas, because they figured two childless adults not in costumes would look like would-be kidnappers. I think they’ll look creepy regardless, like the time they were meeting Cindy & the boys at Chuck E. Cheese and the guy at the door gave them many a suspicious look. Their costumes from prior years are hardly appropriate. They recently did a group theme with one of Amy’s friends so that a priest, a pope, and a boyscout could all walk into a bar. Lucas, who is ten, said that he wants to be Cornholio from Beavis and Butthead. I’m disappointed that the boys even know about Beavis and Butthead, let alone want to dress as one of them for Halloween. Cindy has deemed this costume highly inappropriate, thank goodness. In an effort to dissuade the boys, Mitch told them that Beavis and Butthead are “totally played out”. Amy then suggested a number of costume ideas, including the Spartan cheerleaders from SNL, which I find to be totally played out. We then decided we should have a 90s themed Halloween party sometime, and continually refer to things as being played out.

Warning: if you ever host a Halloween party and have the kind of friends who will show up wearing a crazy long sock dangling from their pants zipper and a shirt that says “I choked Linda Lovelace”, please make sure to take a picture of them with their mask OFF, otherwise there will be a horrifying time someday when your children come across this picture and sit in stunned silence thinking that you are the wearer of said costume. Hopefully for them, there will be someone there who can tell you who that person actually was.

I also found a picture from elementary school of me, one of my childhood friends, and Robyn. That wouldn’t be weird, except that Robyn and I were in different grades and didn’t really know each other until high school. This prompted a text conversation between us about that particular gifted program assembly, the cute visiting boys that all us nerdy girls swooned over, and the fact that our swooning went unnoticed because, well, we were the creepy nerdy girls.

Additionally, I can’t decide what to be for Halloween. I have several cute ideas, but 1) I don’t want to buy an overpriced costume, 2) I’m not at all creative, and any homemade costume would probably end up looking like a sloppy child’s craft project, and 3) I’m super lazy. It’s a recipe for awesome!

One thought on “Kelso, MO is so played out

  1. You should have Cayce make your costume, she's good at sewing and glue-gunning and bedazzling and stuff. I guess you'd have to decide what you're going to be first, and for that, I can't help you.

Leave a Reply

