Energy

I’ve been trying to cut down on my caffeine intake. I’ve been an addict for years, and I don’t like feeling dependent on something so bad for me. I’m trying to give it up entirely, but it’s slow going. I can’t handle going cold turkey. The caffeine withdrawal headaches are not ideal.  I used to have a soda as soon as I got to work, another with lunch, and at least one or two in the evening. That’s…not great. I’m down to one soda a day, which happens at lunch time. I don’t want the headache to last all day (which it absolutely can), but I also don’t want to cave into it immediately with a morning soda. Fingers crossed on this one.

One of the several downsides of this is that I have no energy. I never have much energy, I’ll give you that, but I am seriously dragging right now. My initial plan was to slowly cut down on the soda consumption, try to eat healthier in general (nothing overboard, but less junky stuff in general), and work in more physical activity. I’d like to get away from relying on caffeine for my energy. I want to foster a healthier living for myself, so that I have more energy of my own rather than frantically choking down soda after soda to keep myself going.

Last night I fell asleep at ten. TEN. That’s insane for me. One the plus side, I actually had a (more than) full night’s sleep before I needed to be up, so I had time to hang out with Mike for a bit before having to jump in the shower. I actually ate breakfast, which I haven’t done on a non-vacation weekday in…years? AND I went to school earlier and with dry hair. It’s pretty embarrassing how often I leave home with wet hair. But to be fair, I’ve got a butt-load of hair. That was a really gross mental image for me, I don’t know about you.

I’m not sure what physical activity would be good for me. I hate running on treadmills almost as much as I hate running outdoors. That’s not true. Running outside is the worst. Ever. Most exercise videos are a bit manic for me. Sorry, Jillian Michaels and Billy Blanks. You are not for me. I don’t have the budget for a class or a gym. Eh.

Regardless, my hope is that I can figure out a way to live a healthier lifestyle. I promise not to become a douche about it.

Leave a Reply

