Same old, same old

I haven’t written anything in awhile. I guess I haven’t really felt like I have anything to say. School is annoying, but close to being done. Work is…terrible, most of the time, but hopefully I’ll find something to move on to soon enough-ish. I hate the cold weather. My cats are annoying. Same old, same old.

The only thing that has changed lately is Mike’s job. He’s now working for the same company as me, but in a different building. The job has better pay and benefits, which is great. He was a temp at his last job for awhile, waiting to be hired on as a full-time employee, so there was no health insurance, sick days, vacation; pretty much just the hourly pay. He liked the company and the work (most of the time), but this new job just fell in his lap and was too good of an opportunity to pass over. The best part of the new job is his schedule. He’s now working Monday through Friday….10 am to 6 pm. It’s fantastic. It’s the first time since we’ve been together that we’ve been on a similar work schedule. It’s been a big transition (just sleeping at the same time was a new thing for us), but I’m thoroughly enjoying it. I get to spend time with him on the weekends, and he actually gets to spend time with his/our friends again. All is well there. There’s a huge danger of me becoming even more obnoxiously clingy, but I’m going to leave it to him to let me know when to back off. As it is, I sit as close as I can to him on our mega-couch and occasionally put my face on his face. I’m both awkward AND needy, so this is a huge double-win for Mike.

My sister Amy is doing a couch to 5k thing. It’s weird, she’s never been much of a runner. She was involved in sports when we were younger, but has been more of a long hours at the office person than a health conscious exerciser. On Thanksgiving day, she got up early to go for a run and then read the paper while I slept in and then nursed a hangover. It made me question my priorities a little. Just a little, though. Not enough to do anything about it yet. Or possibly ever.

I think I need to fling myself into Christmas mode. I hate winter weather, with the cold and the bleak and the leaving work in the dark every night and the sadness. But I love twinkly lights, the fresh tree smell, the ornaments. Heck, even the music. And the movies….oh, the movies. Even the ones that aren’t Christmas movies but just have a brief Christmas scene buried somewhere in them. The Harry Potter movies have become Christmas movies to me. Mike just started reading the books for the first time, so we’ve been watching each one as he finishes the book.

My car is a sloppy mess. I like to think of it less as shaking and more as the car just can’t hold in its excitement, so it’s dancing ALL THE TIME. What can I say? I’m just an optimist like that. (Or it hurts my soul, so I have to put a positive spin on it.)

I hope nobody non-family is getting me a Christmas present, for they will be disappointed in the lack of reciprocation. It’s not that I’m just a grinch, but I’m still working on paying off the balance of my UMSL bill that wasn’t covered by loans so that the issuance of my diploma won’t be held up too much. It’s a bit of a priority. So suck it, non-family. You will get nothing from me but snark, and maybe a hug if I’m in a really good mood or if you’re someone I’ve known since high school.

My friendship hug dynamic is odd. I don’t think it signifies any sort of divide between groups of friends and various levels of closeness. I think I just hug people who I’ve known since I was younger and hugs were the norm. I’d feel weird hugging most of the people I’ve friended in the last 8ish years. I think it would be awkward, and we’d do that acquaintance hug thing where we’re leaning in while keeping our bodies as far from each other as possible while still technically being in a hug stance. Also, I hug my sister Amy’s husband, but I don’t think I’ve ever once hugged Cindy’s husband. To be fair, I also once told my mom that I thought Cindy’s husband could secretly be a serial killer because something just felt off about him, so it’s no surprise that we’re not on hugging terms, since 1.) he knows I said that and 2.) it’s best to keep both distance and constant vigilance.

I’m still totally befuddled by people who go shopping on Black Friday. I know people who went, people who I would usually describe as intelligent people, so I know those hoards of rabid sales hunters aren’t comprised entirely of monsters masquerading as conservative spenders. I’m not sure what it is about the promise of a discounted toaster that riles people up into an all our shopping/trampling/batshit crazy frenzy, but it’s terrifying. It makes me sad for humanity. And since I’m contributing SO very much to humanity, what with my excessive tv watching and my drinking weekends and my iPhone addiction, I get to harp on it. Yes. Shh. It’s happening.

I still haven’t taken any steps to bridge that enormous divide between my goals/aspirations and my actual current status. I’m a very harsh critic of myself, and spend a weird amount of time replaying in my head stupid things I’ve said to people, mean things I shouldn’t have done, dumb mistakes I’ve made to end up where/who I am in life…but I continue to just sweep it all under the rug and go about my business come Monday morning. I’d like to say that’s all going to change, but I’m slowly learning my lessons about making broad sweeping statements about all the changes that I’m going to make RIGHT NOW and all at once and the disappointment that inevitably follows those statements.

I feel like I should apologize personally to Adele for the singing that occurred in my car today to ‘Turning Tables’. I’d  say it won’t happen again, but I don’t want to lie to her. Hasn’t she been through enough without my broken promises?

One of the comedians I follow on Twitter has been live-tweeting his Netflix viewings of Felicity. It’s been pretty great for me. I love that he established a “Can we talk?” count and occasionally tweets the actors who played Ben and Noel with various “concerns”. He’s either doing One Tree Hill or True Blood next.

I’m going to try to recreate my brief phone boycott from the honeymoon for awhile. I have no intentions of cutting down my use of it when I’m alone, but I’m going to leave it in my purse when I’m with other people. It’s one thing to check messages if they come in, check the time on occasion, reply to Mike if he’s not with me, etc. I’ve always had a problem putting it aside to just be truly present in whatever environment in. However, I’ve turned a corner and become an all-out, totally obnoxious, constantly checking things iPhone mega-douche. If I’m at a party with people or spending time with Mike, I need to put that shit down (as entertaining/funny as the Felicity live-tweet may be). Fingers crossed?

One thought on “Same old, same old

  1. are you kidding?? SO much to say!! hilariousness…and, i’m prolly gonna watch felicity tonight. it’s been a long time 🙂
    i’m gonna see you sooooooooooooooon! leme know when your first free day is and we’ll get some burs. (beers)

Leave a Reply

