Strange times

Last Saturday, Mike and I took a hike at Lone Elk Park. We are both severely out of shape, and it was terrifying to see elk close up/blocking the trail entirely.

Image
the first of many
Image

shitty distance shot

All in all, it was a good time. It started raining while we were walking, but we were mostly sheltered by trees. The rain was light until the minute we got back to the parking lot, at which time it started to pour. We drove home through torrential rains, muddy and drenched, but pleased with ourselves for finally getting out of the apartment and getting moving for a change.

Image
also, this happened

We went to the symphony Friday night. It’s not as cultured as it sounds. We went to see Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy. Dorky, I know. It was Mike’s doing, but the music was beautiful. It was a truly bizarre assortment of people/attire. Torn jeans and sloppy t-shirts were everywhere. There were piercings and dye jobs and fatties, oh my! There were very few people actually dressed up as characters. It was one of the few times that Mike and I have been among the nicest dressed people in a place. Again, incredibly dorky, but it was an interesting experience and I thoroughly enjoyed the music. 

Yesterday, I got sucked into Downton Abbey. I didn’t expect to like it, but I’d heard good things. I’m surprisingly into it now.

Today was hike #2. We went out to Castlewood. The weather was much nicer, and the only animals blocking any paths were people’s dogs and the occasional darty lizard. Much more manageable. I’m not sure that I’ll ever be in the kind of shape to not hate at least a few parts of a hike, but I think I’ll get better. We’re going to try to make it a more frequent thing. It’s been nice to get out of the apartment and get some fresh air together. We’ll see.

Image
the hippie, in its natural habitat

Image

This creeped me out more than I can say. They were everywhere:

Image

creepy crawlies

The tilt of the camera seemed that Mike was taking a picture of my chest. This is my suspicious face:

Image

So things have taken an odd turn. Hiking, the symphony, getting hooked on a PBS show. I’m sure it’s just a phase 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

