Progress!

I finished reading “And the Mountains Echoed” by Khaled Hosseini. January was a success for keeping resolutions! Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I had hoped I would. I liked “The Kite Runner” and LOVED “A Thousand Splendid Suns”. This one had a solid start for me: tears by the second chapter. Somewhere down the road, it just lost me.

I have a harder time enjoying something that has this book’s kind of structure. I don’t have a problem with switching between narrators. I just like to not switch between narrators for every section of a book. Some of the stories were very moving, and they were all well written. Despite the stories all being connected in some way, I just didn’t feel the connection with all of the characters. I wanted a more streamlined story, and I wanted to dig further into just one or two stories rather than skimming the surface of a bunch of different stories.

Regardless, that’s one book down. Now I just have to figure out what to read next. Suggestions?

One thought on “Progress!

  1. Ems have you read I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb? or She’s Come Undone by the same author? Two favorites.
    I also thought The Ocean at the End of the Lane was like those weird sort of epic dreams we have that are hard to explain to others but leaving us feeling like were we to traverse off into the woods we might stumble upon magic.
    Currently slowly sifting through Burial Rites before it turns into a movie where Jenifer Lawrence gets more recognition than she deserves (about the last Icelandic beheading).

Leave a Reply

