Adulting

I am not always one for New Year’s resolutions, but I figured I’d give it a shot again this year. I’m notoriously bad about neglecting my health. This was bad enough when I was younger, but it really isn’t something I can keep doing as I get older. This year, I resolved to be better about taking care of myself physically. Since that is a bit vague, and since I tend to shirk responsibilities, I set a goal to do something for my health each month this year. To keep myself accountable…or to at least attempt to keep myself accountable…I’ve decided to post about my attempts here.

Today I went to the optometrist and the dentist. Neither of those were particularly fun, but I consider January a success as far as health is concerned. My gums hurt, and I bled an embarrassing amount. The chipper hygienist informed me that I should feel lucky, because at least I didn’t have to get a deep clean! She said this after 30+ minutes of jabbing a metal pick deep into my gums and lecturing me about my abysmal flossing habits. If what she did to me today wasn’t a deep clean, I am legitimately scared of whatever a deep clean entails. And apparently I have to buy a waterpik. I am not thrilled about this new development, but I really don’t want to have a repeat experience when I get another cleaning in 6 months, so I guess this is happening.

I’m set up for February as well. I have a follow up dentist appointment to get my cavities filled (oh, joy!) during the afternoon on February 5th. I also have a doctor’s appointment to get a wellness exam…on the morning of February 5th. Efficiency! I haven’t had an actual doctor’s appointment in years, so I really don’t know what to anticipate other than discomfort. So now I just have to line up appointments for a dermatologist and a gynecologist and figure out what to do for the other 8 months. Diet? Get focused on exercise? Get an allergy panel? Eh. Maybe something each month was too ambitious.

My second resolution (that’s right, I’m not done rambling) is to read a new book each month. I love to read, but I keep spending my free time watching hours upon hours of Netflix. When I do get on a reading kick, I tend to just re-read books that I’ve already read countless times. Or I crack out on a book series and read them all in a few weeks, just to spend the rest of the year curled up on the couch watching Pretty Little Liars or the  entire series of Gilmore Girls.

I picked up “And the Mountains Echoed” by Khaled Hosseini a few weeks ago. It’s been sitting on my nightstand ever since. I really liked “The Kite Runner” and “A Thousand Splendid Suns”, and figured this would be a good book to start with…if I ever get started. I still have 11 days. I can do this! I can do this?

I’m not sure what it says about me that my first resolution is to do something that most adults just do as part of being an adult human.

Leave a comment